Forum - General Questions

Question

'''DISC ROT'''

Could one of you please explain and clarify this disturbing CD phenomenon I just read in one of the threads called '''disc rot'''. What the hell is this? It sounds pretty disgusting! Is it actually possible... and if so, what causes it and how could it be prevented??? Does it happen to good old LP's? YIKES!

serifiot, February 6, 2006; 9:37 PM

Answers

hi Serifiot

I'm no expert on this, but have covered some issues from my past in the film/muisc industry.

Ok there have been on certain discs & some will say that the common CDr is very easily subject to 'disc rot'. Now on some discs this appears as a bronz'ish' sheen over the playing surface of the disc & causes the information to distort & eventually become unseless.

There were some very bad examples in the 12 inch laser disc market & this format has suffered to the point where the actual disc becomes a complete snow storm.

It was caused by the 'glue ' that was used to attach the alloy to the in plastic disc.

Now in the cd world there have been a number of cases where the cd has 'rotted' or started to 'bronze' & this is often on a run or batch of discs & then others of the same title are not effected.

It has occurred when the disc has some kind of attched label to the front of the playing surface. But this is not always the case, as some examples I have had to deal with were just standard discs even with out a title printed on them, just an industry copyright.

A lot of the time it is a manufacture defect that the industry as a whole really does not want to own up as something that exists as no doubt it would cause a mass of people wanting free discs or even refunds & to be fair to the music industry, it has never been 100% proved what are the actual causes. Just as a new car can be full of faults so can a cd or dvd, they are just a mass produced product & subject to the same rigours & problems as anything mass produced in the consumer market.