News at SoundtrackCollector
Tuomas Kantelinen wins the 2013 Nordic Film Composer Award
21-Apr-2013 -

On April 21st, the jury of the 2013 Nordic Film Music Prize awarded Tuomas Kantelinen for his “wonderfully sensitive scoring” for the Finnish film Puhdistus (or ‘Purge’) by director Antti Jokinen.
The jury released a statement saying, “Although we want to stress the very high quality level of every one of the five scores are presented to us in this selection, we feel that the original music of "Purge" stood out because of its probability to convey with great sophistication, melodic sense and sensitivity the deep, emotional complexity of the characters and to underline the extreme hardship of the circumstances should without ever resorting to easy solutions.”
The nominees were Benny Andersson (of ABBA fame) for ‘Palme’, Peter Peter for ‘Over kanten’, Ben Frost & Daniel Bjarnason for ‘The Deep’ and Peder Kjellsby for ‘Varg Veum Kalde hjerter.’ Kantelinen comments, “All five nominees are already winners because we have the joy and privilege to work on our dream job every day.” Nominees were chosen by each country's composer guild (i.e. SCL in the US). This year’s international jury consisted of composers Bernard Grimaldi (France, founding member and co-president of FFACE, the European Association of Film Composers), Richard Bellis (USA) and Loek Dikker (NL).

Tuomas is currently composin
g the music for frequent collaborator Sergei Bodrov’s movie ‘The Seventh Son,’ a fantasy action adventure film by Legendary Pictures starring Jeff Bridges, Julianne Moore and Ben Barnes. He is sharing composing duties with AR Rahman (‘Slumdog Millionaire’)
About The Nordic Film Composer Award:
The Nordic Film Composer Award was established in 2010 by NFCN, Nordic Film Composers Network as well as the societies of Norwegian, Danish, Swdish, Finnish and Icelandic composers. HARP is an annual film music prize, to which film composers from each Nordic country nominates a candidate. The winner is chosen by an international jury. The prize money is 10,000 Euro. Previous recipients are Fredrik Emilson (Sweden) 2012, Gaute Storaas (Norway) in 2011 and Dani Strömbäck (Finland) in 2010.


All News Items 
New Site Features