News at SoundtrackCollector
New from La-La Land Records...
24-Sep-2013 -

Elmer Bernstein's True Grit
La-La Land Records, Paramount Pictures and Capitol Records/Universal Music Special
Markets present Elmer Bernstein's majestic score to the 1969 Academy Award-Winning
Paramount Pictures western, True Grit, starring John Wayne, Kim Darby and Glen Campbell,
and directed by Henry Hathaway. Finally, decades after the film's debut in theaters, comes
this definitive release of Mr. Bernstein's landmark score to one of the great genre films of all time.
Complementing the film score are a stable of bonus tracks, including various versions of the
main title song performed by Glen Campbell and a demo version performed by Bernstein himself
(co-written by Don Black), and three versions of “Go Home Girl” (one performed by
John Hartford and two by Campbell). Produced by Lukas Kendall and Neil S. Bulk and mastered
by Doug Schwartz from the original 1/4 inch mono masters, TRUE GRIT has finally been
presented to the fans in a manner truly worthy of its legend. Limited to 3000 Units, this release
contains exclusive, in-depth liner notes from film music writer Jeff Bond.
Bill Conti's I, The Jury
La-La Land Records and 20th Century Fox present the world premiere release of composer
Bill Conti's original score to the 1982 noir/thriller feature I, The Jury, starring Armand Assante,
Barbara Carrera and Alan King, and directed by Richard T. Heffron. Conti's explosive, jazzy score
is all kinds of cool, spraying bullets and bedding lovers in equal measure as famed gumshoe
Mike Hammer takes it to the baddies. It's a perfect match for this wildly fun and knowingly
over-the-top Mickey Spillane adaptation. Produced by Nick Redman and Ford A. Thaxton,
restored by Mike Matessino and mastered by Daniel Hersch from 1/4'' mono tapes, this special
release of 2000 units also contains exclusive liner notes from film music writer Julie Kirgo,
with comments from score pianist, Mike Lang.
For more info and ordering, visit La-La Land Records.

All News Items 
New Site Features