News at SoundtrackCollector
Fernando Velázquez's El Poderoso Victoria
26-May-2023 -





Quartet Records presents the new score by renowned composer Fernando Velázquez (THE IMPOSSIBLE, A MONSTER CALLS, CRIMSON PEAK, HERCULES) for a Mexican film written and directed by Raúl Ramón.  

In an unusual stylistic mash-up of westerns and Ealing comedies, El Poderosa Victoria tells the story of the town of La Esperanza in the year 1936. The town’s mining industry—its principal economic activity—must close down, and along with the closing of the mine comes news that the local railroad route will be canceled. The town’s young student machinist and mechanic will have to choose between crossing to the United States and giving up the love of his life or staying to help a group of villagers who plan to build their own train to keep the route active.

Fernando Velázquez provides an impressive, full-epic symphonic score, 73 minutes of pure film music composed as in the good old days—romantic, tuneful, with a radiant love theme. It’s exciting, emotional music, meticulously performed by the Basque National Orchestra under the baton of the composer. 

For more info and ordering, visit Quartet Records. 

All News Items 
New Site Features